
Briefing · From the Watchtower
Zipalertinib plus chemo meets its PFS endpoint at interim in first-line EGFR exon 20 NSCLC
REZILIENT3, a randomised open-label Phase 3 in 285 previously untreated patients, hit its primary endpoint at a planned interim; the Independent Data Monitoring Committee recommended unblinding and the partners will seek US approval pending FDA discussions.
A Phase 3 that enrolled 285 patients in first-line EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC met its primary endpoint of progression-free survival at a planned interim analysis, announced on 12 August 2026; the Independent Data Monitoring Committee recommended unblinding REZILIENT3 on the basis of the interim data, and the trial continues to monitor efficacy and safety [1]. Taiho Oncology, Taiho Pharmaceutical and Cullinan Therapeutics describe a "statistically significant and clinically meaningful improvement in PFS" in the zipalertinib-containing arm, and observed safety as "manageable" [1]. The partners plan to pursue US regulatory approval of the zipalertinib-plus-chemotherapy regimen in the first-line setting, pending discussions with the FDA [1].
| The question | The answer |
|---|---|
| Randomised? | Yes — open-label, multicentre, global; 285 enrolled [1] |
| Comparator? | Platinum-based chemotherapy alone [1] |
| What was hit? | PFS primary endpoint, planned interim analysis [1] |
| Effect size? | Not quantified in the topline release [1] |
| Who unblinded it? | IDMC recommended unblinding; trial continues monitoring [1] |
| Safety? | Called "manageable"; no AE rates given [1] |
| US filing date? | Not disclosed; approval to be pursued pending FDA talks [1] |
| Registry record? | No REZILIENT3 entry in the sources Prognyx reviewed |
What happened
REZILIENT3 enrolled adults with previously untreated, locally advanced or metastatic non-squamous NSCLC carrying EGFR exon 20 insertion mutations, randomising them to zipalertinib plus platinum chemotherapy or to chemotherapy alone, with PFS as the primary objective [1]. The study was initiated in August 2023 [3], so the interim landed roughly three years after start. The topline was announced on 12 August 2026 and filed the following day as an exhibit to a Cullinan Therapeutics 8-K [1]; Endpoints News covered it on 13 August 2026, framing it as setting up a contest with Rybrevant [2].
Zipalertinib (CLN-081 / TAS6417) is an orally available, irreversible next-generation EGFR inhibitor selected for activity against exon 20 insertion variants, and it remains investigational — approved by no health authority [1]. It is co-developed by Taiho Oncology and its parent Taiho Pharmaceutical with Cullinan in the US [1]. Cullinan's Chief Medical Officer Jeffrey Jones called meeting the endpoint early at a planned interim "an important milestone" [1].
The genotype is the point. Exon 20 insertions are the third most common EGFR mutation subtype in NSCLC, present in up to roughly 4% of cases, and most of them confer primary resistance to earlier-generation EGFR inhibitors despite a clinical picture that overlaps classical sensitising mutations [6]. The sponsors put US prevalence at about 16% of NSCLC patients carrying EGFR mutations, of which exon 20 insertions account for up to 12% [1]. On Cullinan's June 2024 wording — the most recent characterisation in the sources Prognyx reviewed, which contain no current FDA label and no J&J source — the first-line standard REZILIENT3 is positioned against is an antibody-plus-chemotherapy regimen [4].
Why it matters
The competitive claim here is setting, not a demonstrated efficacy edge. Cullinan's June 2024 language stated that amivantamab had recently been approved as a first-line treatment in combination with chemotherapy [4] — that characterisation comes from the partner's release, is 26 months old, and comes from neither an FDA label nor a J&J source; no amivantamab efficacy data sit in the sources Prognyx reviewed at all. There is therefore no cross-trial comparison to be made between REZILIENT3 and any amivantamab regimen, and none should be inferred from a topline that stated significance without stating magnitude.
Zipalertinib is orally available [1]; the comparator regimen's route of administration, infusion burden and reaction profile are not established in the sources Prognyx reviewed, so the oral-versus-infused differentiation that would ordinarily carry this story cannot yet be asserted. What can be said is that a first-line oral agent added to chemotherapy in a genotype whose stated standard is an antibody-plus-chemotherapy combination [4] changes the shape of the prescribing choice — a dimension that does not need a hazard ratio to matter to a formulary committee. The commercial stakes are already contracted: Cullinan's 2022 Taiho partnership carried $275M upfront plus up to $130M in payments tied to US regulatory approvals in first-line and second-line-plus NSCLC, with a 50/50 US profit share retained [4]. A first-line approval would trigger part of that $130M; the split between the two indications is not disclosed [4].
The supporting clinical arc is unusually well-matched to the incumbent. In the pivotal Phase 2b REZILIENT1 study, zipalertinib produced a confirmed ORR of 39% and a disease control rate of 94% in 18 response-evaluable patients who had progressed after prior amivantamab (31 enrolled at the 12 January 2024 cut-off, median three prior regimens), alongside ORR 41% / DCR 97% / median PFS 12 months in the earlier post-chemotherapy Phase 1/2a population of 39 patients — different studies, different prior therapy, not a comparison [4]. No grade 4 or grade 5 treatment-related adverse events were reported in the REZILIENT1 dataset [4]; no subsequent filing or approval is on record here.
Who is exposed — by name
The registry listings below state what each sponsor is testing, never how well it works.
Janssen Research & Development is the direct incumbent: NCT04538664 is a Phase 3 of amivantamab plus carboplatin-pemetrexed versus carboplatin-pemetrexed, now active but no longer recruiting [7]. Janssen is also extending the franchise earlier, into resectable EGFR-mutated disease with amivantamab plus lazertinib or chemotherapy in the Phase 2 NCT07586202 [8]. An oral first-line competitor in the same genotype pressures the chemotherapy-combination position specifically.
Dizal Pharmaceuticals is the closest oral rival. Sunvozertinib is being tested against platinum-based doublet chemotherapy as first-line treatment in locally advanced or metastatic NSCLC in the Phase 3 NCT05668988, an open-label randomised multicentre study now active but no longer recruiting [9] — a first-line, oral-plus-or-versus-chemotherapy design running in parallel to REZILIENT3. The exon 20 insertion genotype is named across the rest of the programme: the Phase 2 NCT05712902 in pretreated exon 20 insertion disease [10], and the Phase 3 NCT07182682 of sunvozertinib versus placebo as adjuvant therapy in early-stage exon 20 insertion NSCLC, now recruiting [11]. Same modality, same mutation class, and now a first-line randomised benchmark it will be measured against.
Takeda registered NCT04129502, a Phase 3 of TAK-788 as first-line treatment versus platinum-based chemotherapy in exon 20 insertion NSCLC, now active but no longer recruiting [12] — the same design question, asked earlier; no readout and no current programme status appear in the sources Prognyx reviewed.
ArriVent BioPharma and Allist Pharmaceuticals are both developing furmonertinib/firmonertinib, including Allist's Phase 1 study specifically in exon 20 insertion NSCLC (NCT04858958) [13] and ArriVent's Phase 3 against platinum-based chemotherapy (NCT05607550) [14]. Betta Pharmaceuticals is testing the EGFR/cMet bispecific MCLA-129 in NCT04930432 [16] — a mechanism adjacent to the incumbent antibody. Bayer runs sevabertinib in a Phase 3 in advanced NSCLC (NCT06452277) [15]; the registry record reviewed does not state the target or the mutation class, and no EGFR exon 20 insertion population is specified, so it sits here as an adjacent programme rather than an exon 20 rival.
One tier removed sit the antibody-drug conjugates aimed at EGFR-mutant NSCLC — Daiichi Sankyo's patritumab deruxtecan in HERTHENA-Lung02, after failure of EGFR TKI therapy (NCT05338970) [17], and Merck's sacituzumab tirumotecan versus pemetrexed-carboplatin in EGFR-mutated advanced NSCLC (NCT06305754), where the record reviewed does not state the line of therapy [18]. Neither is a first-line exon 20 insertion competitor; for the post-TKI programme, every month a new oral agent holds patients in first line is a month the population it draws from shifts.
What Prognyx could not verify
No ClinicalTrials.gov record for REZILIENT3 appears in the sources reviewed for this briefing, so the NCT number, current recruitment status, actual enrolment, randomisation ratio, comparator regimen detail, secondary endpoints including overall survival and intracranial activity, and estimated completion date are all unconfirmed. The release asserts a statistically significant and clinically meaningful improvement in PFS but does not quantify it: no hazard ratio, no medians, no confidence interval, no p-value, no data cut-off date, and no statement of whether the interim was event-driven or of the alpha spent at it. "Manageable" safety carries no rash, paronychia, diarrhoea, ILD, discontinuation or grade ≥3 rates. Amivantamab's approved indication wording, efficacy data, route or routes of administration and any subcutaneous presentation are absent from the sources reviewed, which is why no comparator-burden claim is made above. No primary release or 8-K for the REZILIENT1 ORR readout appears in the sources Prognyx reviewed. Breakthrough Therapy Designation is sourced only to Cullinan's 1 June 2024 release [4] and Prognyx could not confirm it remains in force. The regulatory status of any second-line-plus filing based on REZILIENT1 is not established here — the 2026 release states only that zipalertinib has not been approved by any health authority [1]. Cullinan reported $511M in cash, cash equivalents, investments and interest receivable as of 30 June 2025, with runway stated into 2028 [5]; that September 2025 corporate overview is the most recent filing in the sources reviewed, so any position after 30 June 2025 is unconfirmed here.
What to watch, and when
The honest answer is that the calendar is empty, and that is itself the finding. The partners said they plan to pursue US approval of the first-line regimen pending FDA discussions and gave no submission date [1]. Because no filing date and no acceptance date exist in the public record reviewed, no target action date can be derived — a Breakthrough designation, stated in Cullinan's 1 June 2024 release [4] and not re-confirmed since, shortens interaction, not a clock that has not started. The first dateable event will be either an announced submission or the conference presentation of full REZILIENT3 data, which the release says will be submitted for presentation at an upcoming international medical conference [1]: submission is not acceptance, and no venue or date is committed. Watch Cullinan's next quarterly filing for a stated submission timeline and an updated cash position against the 30 June 2025 baseline, and watch for the abstract embargo lift at whichever congress accepts the dataset.
The now-what
Three options are on the table for anyone with an exon 20 insertion asset. One: hold pricing and access assumptions until the hazard ratio is public — a positive interim with an unquantified magnitude cannot yet displace a standard, and building a launch model on it is building on a press adjective. Two: re-cut second-line and post-progression trial designs now, on the assumption that the first-line population will be increasingly TKI-exposed rather than antibody-exposed; part of zipalertinib's REZILIENT1 dataset was built specifically in patients progressing after prior amivantamab — 18 response-evaluable of 31 enrolled at the 12 January 2024 cut-off [4] — and the mirror-image problem is coming for everyone else. Three: for oral rivals in Phase 3 against chemotherapy, decide whether your registrational comparator survives the year — a first-line oral regimen with a positive randomised PFS result changes what an ethics committee and an investigator will accept as a control arm.
Threat level: high for first-line exon 20 insertion franchises, unquantified until the full dataset lands. Window to act: the interval between now and the conference presentation — the only period in which competitors can position before the effect size is known.
Questions this briefing answers
What did the REZILIENT3 trial actually show?
REZILIENT3, a randomised open-label Phase 3 that enrolled 285 previously untreated patients with EGFR exon 20 insertion non-squamous NSCLC, met its primary endpoint of progression-free survival at a planned interim analysis; the Independent Data Monitoring Committee recommended unblinding and the trial continues to monitor efficacy and safety. The comparator was platinum-based chemotherapy alone. The release of 12 August 2026 describes a statistically significant and clinically meaningful improvement in PFS but does not quantify it — no hazard ratio, median PFS, confidence interval or p-value was disclosed in the topline announcement.
When will zipalertinib be filed with the FDA?
Taiho Oncology, Taiho Pharmaceutical and Cullinan Therapeutics said they plan to pursue US regulatory approval of the zipalertinib-plus-chemotherapy regimen in the first-line setting pending discussions with the FDA, and disclosed no submission date or timeline. Because no filing or acceptance date exists in the public record Prognyx reviewed, no target action date can be derived; zipalertinib is investigational and has not been approved by any health authority.
How does zipalertinib compare with Rybrevant (amivantamab)?
No comparison can be made from the available records. Cullinan's June 2024 release stated that amivantamab had recently been approved as a first-line treatment in combination with chemotherapy, but no amivantamab efficacy data and no FDA label are in the sources reviewed, and REZILIENT3 disclosed no effect size — so any head-to-head framing would be unsupported. Zipalertinib is an orally available, irreversible next-generation EGFR inhibitor; the comparator's administration route is not documented in the sources reviewed.
Which companies are most exposed to this result?
Janssen Research & Development runs the Phase 3 of amivantamab plus carboplatin-pemetrexed versus chemotherapy (NCT04538664). Dizal Pharmaceuticals is the closest oral rival, with sunvozertinib tested against platinum-based doublet chemotherapy as first-line treatment in locally advanced or metastatic NSCLC (NCT05668988) and versus placebo in adjuvant exon 20 insertion disease (NCT07182682), while Takeda registered a Phase 3 of TAK-788 as first-line treatment versus platinum chemotherapy in the same genotype (NCT04129502), now active but no longer recruiting and with no current programme status in the sources reviewed. ArriVent, Allist and Betta Pharmaceuticals also have EGFR-directed programmes in registry listings.
Sources — every claim traces to the primary record
- SEC 8-K EX-99.1 — Taiho Oncology / Taiho Pharmaceutical / Cullinan Therapeutics joint release on REZILIENT3, filed 13 August 2026
- Endpoints News — Taiho, Cullinan's lung cancer drug passes Phase 3 test (13 August 2026)
- SEC 8-K EX-99.1 — Cullinan Oncology Q3 2023 corporate update (REZILIENT3 initiation, August 2023)
- SEC 8-K EX-99.1 — Cullinan release, 1 June 2024 (REZILIENT1 data, Breakthrough Therapy Designation, Taiho deal terms, Zai Lab rights)
- SEC 8-K EX-99.1 — Cullinan corporate overview, September 2025 ($511M in cash and investments as of 30 June 2025; most recent corporate filing in the sources reviewed)
- Drugs (PMID 42154197) — EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC review, 19 May 2026
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04538664 — amivantamab plus carboplatin-pemetrexed (Janssen)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT07586202 — neoadjuvant amivantamab with lazertinib or chemotherapy (Janssen)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05668988 — sunvozertinib versus platinum-based doublet chemotherapy, first-line (Dizal)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05712902 — sunvozertinib in pretreated EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC (Dizal)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT07182682 — sunvozertinib versus placebo, adjuvant EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC (Dizal)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04129502 — TAK-788 first-line versus platinum-based chemotherapy in EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC (Takeda)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04858958 — furmonertinib in NSCLC with exon 20 insertion mutation (Allist)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05607550 — furmonertinib versus platinum-based chemotherapy (ArriVent)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06452277 — sevabertinib versus standard treatment in advanced NSCLC (Bayer)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04930432 — MCLA-129, EGFR/cMet bispecific antibody (Betta Pharmaceuticals)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05338970 — HERTHENA-Lung02, patritumab deruxtecan (Daiichi Sankyo)
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06305754 — sacituzumab tirumotecan versus pemetrexed-carboplatin in EGFR-mutated NSCLC (Merck Sharp & Dohme)
How this briefing was produced — Drafted and audited by the Prognyx engine against the primary sources cited above, then published automatically for clearing the audit threshold set by Rali Filali. Below that threshold, a briefing is not published. The full method.
The Watchtower, by email
Each briefing, the day it publishes.
One email per briefing, nothing else. You confirm by clicking the link we send; you leave in one click.
Double opt-in. Never sold, no open tracking. Privacy.
Get a free sample competitive brief on one of your assets — sourced, sharp, no strings.
Request a sample brief → Or read how Prognyx runs continuous oncology competitive intelligence.
Prognyx briefings are built from public information and reflect Prognyx's analysis. They are not investment advice and do not promote any product or off-label use.