PROGNYX

Home/The Watchtower/Zipalertinib's REZILIENT3 hits its PFS endpoint in first-…

Editorial illustration for the Prognyx briefing on zipalertinib — EGFR exon 20 insertion mutation

Briefing · From the Watchtower

Zipalertinib's REZILIENT3 hits its PFS endpoint in first-line EGFR exon 20 lung cancer; full data land 13 September

Taiho and Cullinan report a Phase 3 first-line PFS win at interim; the hazard ratio and median PFS are not yet disclosed and are set for IASLC on 13 September 2026, while the only regulatory date on record — a 27 February 2027 PDUFA — governs a separate post-platinum filing.

By · Founder, Prognyx ● Sourced to primary records Oncology
In brief — On 12 August 2026, Taiho and Cullinan Therapeutics reported that the Phase 3 REZILIENT3 trial (NCT05973773; zipalertinib plus platinum-based chemotherapy versus chemotherapy alone, N=285) met its primary endpoint of progression-free survival at a planned interim analysis in first-line EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC, with the independent data monitoring committee recommending unblinding [2]. Full data are set for the IASLC 2026 World Conference on Lung Cancer, Presidential Symposium 2, on 13 September 2026 [1][2]. Zipalertinib (CLN-081/TAS6417) already carries an FDA-accepted NDA in the post-platinum setting with a PDUFA target action date of 27 February 2027, while a first-line filing remains pending FDA discussions [4][3].

On 12 August 2026, Taiho Oncology, Taiho Pharmaceutical and Cullinan Therapeutics reported that the Phase 3 REZILIENT3 trial — zipalertinib plus platinum-based chemotherapy against chemotherapy alone in first-line EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC, 285 patients — met its primary endpoint of progression-free survival at a planned interim analysis, and the independent data monitoring committee recommended unblinding [2]. The number that decides how much this matters — the hazard ratio, the median PFS gap — was not disclosed, and is set for the IASLC 2026 World Conference on Lung Cancer, Presidential Symposium 2, on 13 September 2026 [1][2].

The questionThe answer
Randomized?Yes — Phase 3, zipalertinib+chemo vs chemo alone, N=285 [2]
Primary endpoint met?Yes — progression-free survival, at a planned interim analysis [2]
Effect size disclosed?No — hazard ratio and median PFS not yet public [2]
When do full data land?IASLC WCLC, Presidential Symposium 2, 13 September 2026 [1]
Any approval date?2L NDA PDUFA 27 February 2027; 1L filing pending FDA talks [4][3]
Phase 3 rivals vs platinum chemo?TAK-788, sunvozertinib, furmonertinib, amivantamab combo [11][12][13][14]
What is still unknown?Magnitude of the PFS benefit, and overall survival [2]

What happened

REZILIENT3 randomized 285 first-line EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC patients to zipalertinib plus platinum-based chemotherapy or chemotherapy alone; at a planned interim analysis the trial met its progression-free survival primary endpoint, which the companies called statistically significant and clinically meaningful, and the independent data monitoring committee recommended unblinding [2]. Cullinan disclosed the result the same day through a Form 8-K (Item 8.01, event date 12 August 2026), stating that Taiho and Cullinan plan to pursue U.S. regulatory approval for the combination in the first-line setting pending FDA discussions [3]. Yahoo Finance and FirstWord Pharma carried the same topline within 48 hours [7][8].

Zipalertinib (CLN-081/TAS6417) is an orally available, next-generation irreversible EGFR inhibitor designed to target exon 20 insertion mutations; it was investigational and unapproved as of that release [2], and ChEMBL lists it at a maximum development phase of 3 [6].

Why it matters

Zipalertinib was already deep in regulatory play at the back of the treatment line: the FDA accepted an NDA for locally advanced/metastatic exon 20 insertion NSCLC that has progressed after platinum-based chemotherapy (with or without amivantamab), with a PDUFA target action date of 27 February 2027 [4][5], following a rolling submission begun on 20 November 2025 [9]. REZILIENT3 pushes the ambition forward one line, from post-platinum to first-line.

Prognyx read: a first-line PFS win moves zipalertinib out of the late-line niche and into contention for the front-line exon 20 patient — the larger, stickier commercial position, where amivantamab-based regimens currently set the benchmark. That is the strategic weight of 13 September.

One caution governs everything below: a positive interim PFS result says the curves separated, not by how much. A first-line regimen is judged on the size of that separation and on overall survival and tolerability, none of which have been disclosed [2]. Until the IASLC dataset is on the screen, the read is directional, not quantified.

Who is exposed — by name

The competitive set below is drawn from ClinicalTrials.gov registry listings, which state what each sponsor is testing, never how well it works [11][12][13][14][15].

Phase 3 programs testing an EGFR-directed agent against a platinum-chemotherapy backbone in NSCLC, the broad contest REZILIENT3 just won an interim on:

  • Takeda — TAK-788 as first-line treatment versus platinum-based chemotherapy in NSCLC with EGFR exon 20 insertion mutations, NCT04129502 [11].
  • Dizal Pharmaceuticals — sunvozertinib versus platinum-based doublet chemotherapy in locally advanced or metastatic NSCLC (WU-KONG28), NCT05668988 [12].
  • ArriVent BioPharma — furmonertinib versus platinum-based chemotherapy in locally advanced or metastatic NSCLC, NCT05607550 [13].
  • Janssen — amivantamab plus carboplatin-pemetrexed versus carboplatin-pemetrexed in advanced or metastatic NSCLC, NCT04538664 [14].
  • Avistone Biotechnology — PLB1004 in non-squamous NSCLC harboring EGFR exon 20 insertion, NCT06281964 [15].

Prognyx read: only Takeda's registry entry specifies both the first-line setting and the exon 20 insertion population, and only Avistone's also names that population; the sunvozertinib, furmonertinib and amivantamab entries state a broader advanced or metastatic NSCLC label without a first-line or exon 20 qualifier, so their overlap with REZILIENT3's exact first-line exon 20 patient is a desk inference, not a registry fact.

Prognyx read: amivantamab is the incumbent to displace — it surfaces even inside zipalertinib's own post-platinum label context [4] and anchors Janssen's Phase 3 combination [14], so the interpretive question at IASLC is how zipalertinib's all-oral regimen reads against that bar.

Sequencing-exposed: Dizal is running a Phase 3 adjuvant sunvozertinib study in early-stage exon 20 insertion NSCLC, NCT07182682 [16] — a different setting whose patients could later arrive in the metastatic line having already seen an exon 20 TKI.

Comparator-adjacent and earlier-phase watchers, none yet in a first-line Phase 3 readout: Dizal's WU-KONG6 (NCT05712902) [17], Merus's MCLA-129 (NCT04868877) [18], Yuhan's YH42946 (NCT06616766) [19] and Pierre Fabre's STX-721/PFL-721 (NCT06043817) [20].

What to watch next

  • 13 September 2026 — full REZILIENT3 data at IASLC WCLC, Presidential Symposium 2: the hazard ratio, median PFS, the maturity of overall survival, and the safety profile of adding zipalertinib to chemotherapy [1]. This is the catalyst that converts a directional read into a priced one.
  • 27 February 2027 — PDUFA target action date for the post-platinum NDA [4]. Prognyx note: this is a target action date, not a statutory guarantee, and it governs the second-line filing — not the first-line combination.
  • First-line filing — no date exists. Taiho and Cullinan state only an intent to pursue U.S. approval pending FDA discussions [3]; with no submission or acceptance on record, Prognyx cannot derive a first-line decision window, and any mid-2027 assumption would be unsupported.

The now-what

For a competing exon 20 sponsor, three moves are on the table:

  1. Wait for the 13 September curve before repricing. If the hazard ratio lands in the range of the amivantamab-combination benchmark, zipalertinib's oral, chemo-partnered profile becomes the differentiator; if the benefit is modest, the second-line franchise still holds but the first-line thesis softens.
  2. Pressure-test your own first-line trial on the axis REZILIENT3 has not yet shown — overall survival and CNS activity, the latter a setting where zipalertinib data in patients with active brain metastases were presented at the ESMO Congress 2025 [21] but are not quantified here.
  3. Hold BD optionality rather than commit. The decisive number is weeks away; a deal struck before the effect size is public prices the headline, not the drug.

What Prognyx could not verify

The magnitude of the REZILIENT3 PFS benefit — hazard ratio and median PFS — is not in the public disclosures reviewed; only qualitative language is available, with the full dataset expected on 13 September 2026 [2][1]. Prognyx does not assert the angle's "Rybrevant/Elrexfio-class" rival framing; amivantamab appears only as named in zipalertinib's own post-platinum label context [4] and Janssen's registry entry [14]. The exact webcast timing of Cullinan's investor event beyond the 13 September date is not specified in the release [1].

Verdict: Threat — moderate-to-high for first-line exon 20 programs, but unpriced until 13 September 2026, when the effect size lands.

Questions this briefing answers

What did REZILIENT3 actually show?

At a planned interim analysis, the Phase 3 trial met its progression-free survival primary endpoint with zipalertinib plus platinum-based chemotherapy versus chemotherapy alone in first-line EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC (N=285), and the independent data monitoring committee recommended unblinding [2]. The hazard ratio and median PFS were not disclosed and are expected at IASLC on 13 September 2026 [2][1].

Is zipalertinib approved, and what does the 27 February 2027 date mean?

Zipalertinib is investigational and not approved by any health authority as of the 12 August 2026 release [2]. The 27 February 2027 PDUFA is a target action date for a separate NDA in the post-platinum (later-line) setting [4]; the first-line combination has no filing date and is only stated as an intent pending FDA discussions [3].

Who competes with zipalertinib in first-line exon 20 lung cancer?

Per ClinicalTrials.gov registry listings, active Phase 3 programs testing an EGFR-directed agent against platinum chemotherapy include Takeda's TAK-788 (NCT04129502, the one entry stating first-line and exon 20 insertion), Dizal's sunvozertinib (NCT05668988), ArriVent's furmonertinib (NCT05607550), Janssen's amivantamab combination (NCT04538664), and Avistone's PLB1004 (NCT06281964) [11][12][13][14][15]. These entries state what each sponsor is testing, not how well it works.

Sources — every claim traces to the primary record

  1. GlobeNewswire — Cullinan to host virtual investor event, REZILIENT3 data at IASLC 2026 WCLC
  2. SEC 8-K Exhibit 99.1 — REZILIENT3 interim PFS win press release (12 Aug 2026)
  3. SEC 8-K (body, Item 8.01, event date 12 Aug 2026) — pursue 1L US approval pending FDA discussions
  4. SEC 8-K Exhibit 99.1 (filed 6 Aug 2026) — FDA NDA acceptance, PDUFA 27 Feb 2027; REZILIENT3 enrollment complete Feb 2026
  5. Targeted Oncology — FDA accepts NDA for zipalertinib in EGFR exon 20-mutant lung cancer
  6. ChEMBL — CLN-081 (zipalertinib), CHEMBL4650281, max phase 3
  7. Yahoo Finance — zipalertinib plus chemotherapy meets primary endpoint (12 Aug 2026)
  8. FirstWord PHARMA — REZILIENT3 Phase 3 win coverage
  9. PR Newswire — initiation of rolling NDA submission for zipalertinib (20 Nov 2025)
  10. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05973773 — REZILIENT3 (Taiho, TAS6417), Phase 3
  11. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04129502 — Takeda TAK-788 first-line vs platinum chemo, EGFR exon 20, Phase 3
  12. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05668988 — Dizal sunvozertinib vs platinum doublet (WU-KONG28), Phase 3
  13. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05607550 — ArriVent furmonertinib vs platinum chemo, Phase 3
  14. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04538664 — Janssen amivantamab + carboplatin-pemetrexed, Phase 3
  15. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06281964 — Avistone PLB1004 in non-squamous EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC, Phase 3
  16. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT07182682 — Dizal sunvozertinib adjuvant, early-stage EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC, Phase 3
  17. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05712902 — Dizal sunvozertinib in pretreated EGFR exon 20 (WU-KONG6), Phase 2
  18. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04868877 — Merus MCLA-129 (anti-EGFR/c-MET bispecific), Phase 1/2
  19. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06616766 — Yuhan YH42946, first-in-human Phase 1/2
  20. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06043817 — Pierre Fabre STX-721/PFL-721, EGFR/HER2 exon 20 insertion, Phase 1/2
  21. PR Newswire — Taiho/Cullinan present zipalertinib data in NSCLC with EGFR mutations and active brain metastases at ESMO Congress 2025 (12 Oct 2025)

How this briefing was produced — Drafted and audited by the Prognyx engine against the primary sources cited above, then published automatically for clearing the audit threshold set by Rali Filali. Below that threshold, a briefing is not published. The full method.

Want this on your pipeline?
Get a free sample competitive brief on one of your assets — sourced, sharp, no strings.
Request a sample brief → Or read how Prognyx runs continuous oncology competitive intelligence.

Prognyx briefings are built from public information and reflect Prognyx's analysis. They are not investment advice and do not promote any product or off-label use.